Why I may never get married

I don’t want to title this post, “why I won’t ever get married” because if you know me at all, my mind constantly changes. It’s what makes me who I am.

I saw this image on Facebook and my thought was, “not me!”:

marryorbreak

I mean break up, yes of course that is a possibility, but the idea of marriage? No thank you. Here are some of the reasons why marriage isn’t right for me:

1. I don’t believe in Divorce.

Do I think it’s wrong if others divorce? No. I don’t care about what others do because I am a big believer in people needing to do what’s right for them. Divorce is just not right for me. And do you think a man is really going to make that jump into marriage with me when they find this out about me? I don’t think so. This would be a red flag for them. In my mind, if you’re going to make the commitment of marriage then you’re going to work your ass off to make it work. And who wants to be miserable the rest of their lives? Marriage is too big of a commitment in my mind for a lot of the people of today. Love is not enough.

2. I hate weddings.

OK that might be a slight exaggeration. Maybe I just dislike them, but the idea of being in front of all of those people sounds a little insane to me. I am not one who seeks attention, in fact, I avoid it like the plague. I guess if I ever did get married, I’d elope. Eloping does sound fun if you’re going to leap into marriage.

3. What happens when love does fail? Or falter at least?

OK OK OK, so the Bible says love never fails. I get that, to an extent. The hopeless romantic in me wants to desperately believe that, but my logical mind says no. Or maybe it’s illogical, who knows? The point is a lot of the time when love ebbs instead of flows, people want to back out. Instead of work through it they can do stupid things like cheat or become emotionally unavailable. Marriage used to be more valued in times of my grandparents. My parents have been together many years, but it’s almost a loveless marriage.

And to nicely sum up my thoughts on marriage, I leave you with this:

creepymarriage

 

12 thoughts on “Why I may never get married

  1. I eloped, so I totally get point #2. Heck, I didn’t even go to the prom because I thought that was too big of a deal. A big or even smaller wedding for sure was not my idea of how I wanted to spend my money.

    As for #1, I would say if I even end up in a long-term relationship again, I would go for couple’s counseling to keep things healthy vs. waiting to find issues along the way. #3, I don’t have an answer to, though I wish I did.

    Like

    • Couples counseling before shit hitting the fan is a good idea. Communication is huge.

      I also didn’t go to my prom, but I wasn’t involved in anything extracurricular at school. I loathed high school. lol

      Like

  2. Me = divorced twice.
    Had a big wedding the first time – eloped the second.
    Probably won’t ever get married again.
    I’ve been alone so long I am pretty set in my ways and the thought of “checking in” or “asking permission” is enough for me to say “never.”
    I am too jaded and cynical now – love does fade – the butterflies go away – and for the love of God everyone is cheating – scary.

    Like

  3. My girl and I lived together for several years before we got married. Plus, we met in our 30s, so we were a little older and wiser.
    In the end, by the time we got married, it was pretty much just getting the paperwork settled since our lives were already intertwined.

    Like

  4. I’m married, but I get you. Marriage is a biggie, and probably a lifelong committment. And I hate weddings too (besides my own) – I even wrote a post about it the other day.

    Like

  5. No.1 is definitely a huge put off. I remember when my Queen and I had that discussion, I was like “If divorce is an option then I won’t bother wasting time in a marriage with a built in back (trap?) door.” and she was like “No exit strategy equals no marriage!”…approaching 20 years together now and I’m still not sure I won haa!

    Like

Tell Me How You Really Feel

